Normal Topic Importing from FileMaker Pro (Read 2762 times)
jondolar

Keep Trying

Importing from FileMaker Pro
Jan 3rd, 2004 at 2:19pm
Print Post Print Post  
Hi Everybody
I have been a FIleMaker Pro developper for several years now but I was always frustrated by the lack of a real programming language and the necessity to buy plugins to do trivial things such as field events. I'm therefore very exited about Sesame and downloaded it immediately the day it was available. Now for my question....
How do I import a Master file and its related items file. These are 2 files with Matching Field Values (relational links). There is no such a thing as Automatic (Natural Link) in FMP yet, this is what I would like to use in Sesame. Is this import possible in Sesame? How? ???

TIA

Serge

When all you have is a hammer, everything starts to look like nail!

IP Logged

Hammer
YaBB Administrator
Lanticans

Fire bad. Tree pretty.

Re: Importing from FileMaker Pro
Reply #1 - Jan 3rd, 2004 at 2:35pm
Print Post Print Post  
We're glad you asked! Grin

Sesame has the ability to perform a hierarchical import, automatically creating natually linked parent/subrecords. You just need to structure your import file properly.

The instructions for doing this begin on page 322 of the User Guide. There is also a Library article on the subject.
8)

- Hammer
The plural of anecdote is not data.
IP Logged

jondolar

Keep Trying

Reply #2 - Jan 3rd, 2004 at 3:51pm
Print Post Print Post  
Hi Hammer

Thanks you for your prompt response. I read the Import Section (page 322) of the User Manual as well as the library article. However I think, while the approach is valid, it is somewhat oversimplified. In my real life situation I have the following: