Normal Topic Note lines on a file (Read 1205 times)
Justin_ICC

Note lines on a file
Feb 5th, 2004 at 7:20pm
Print Post Print Post  
Well I finally got a copy of Sesame, there seemed to have been a delay for us beyond the usual. I have been experimenting with it and I can't seem to find a way to generate note lines in a separate database.

To give an idea of my background I have done quite extensive work in SQL (Oracle, MySql) and I have been developing in Q&A for about 8 months now. I also have experience programming in Basic, C++ etc.

What I am trying to do is have a database for clients and a second database for the note lines on the file. I want the program to automatically insert the date, time, user information, a counter and then accept a noteline. The catch is I want unlimited number of notes so I need to store it in another database. I have tried using subforms to allow me to do this - i used the table view as I can't think of any other way to view all the related records. The only problem is I can't do programming on the subform and I can't seem to get it to reverse the order of the notes (I want the newest one at the top).

The only other way I can think of to do it would be very heavy programming where it automatically creates the records in the other database but it doesn't resolve the problem of listing more than one note line at a time. For that route I was thinking I would have a few entry fields and then have a "ADD note" button that automatically creates the note into the other database and then use a subform to show all the notes.

Anyone have any ideas?

Here is a diagram of what it should look like (with hidden indicating fields that would not be shown to the users):
Client Screen
|------------------- -------------------------
| client # _____________
| client Name _____________
| ... misc info ...
Notes:
| ** hidden ** | ****** visible **** ********|
| # client # date time user note
| 5 2001 01/28/2004 10:58 JM newmsg