Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Relational linking and Natural linking (Read 1216 times)
jondolar

Keep Trying

Relational linking and Natural linking
May 5th, 2004 at 2:34pm
Print Post Print Post  
Hi

I am a FileMaker Pro 6 Developper. I have read posts on the Sesame forum every day since the very

beginning. I think that Sesame could offer an interesting alternative since it has a full language

and event driven actions (on field exit etc) which are sorely lacking in FMP.

Since linking a parent record to other tables records is one of the most important feature of a

DBS, I examined the user manual (PDF) and search for the term "relational". This search produced

over two dozen instances. I look and read everyone of them. The gist of it is that...Natural Link

is simpler and faster but not very flexible while the relational link is more complicated, slower

but more flexible. I am concerned by the "speed" aspect since Sesame does not do indexing at all.

In order to have a benchmark, I produced a test database In FMP using an application I had already

developped. It is essentially an order/line items application with additional relatinal links for

clients details, products description and price etc.

I have 10,000 records in the order file (with a subform for the line items) and 86,000 line items

in another table.

When I look at any record, the subform shows me instaneously its line items (1 item to 25 items on

average).
Finding subset of records is also very fast since every field is indexed on the fly if needed.

I have essentially 2 questions:

A) How fast/slow would Sesame be to show me line items on a subform if I was to build a similar

application with the same number of records using relational links.

B) How fast/slow is Sesame at finding a subset of record with a simple request (find all ACME Co

orders), with a more complicated request (find all ACME Co with orders for January Larger than

$500).

TIA

Serge