Normal Topic Start @number at 1 (Read 3153 times)
SpencerWulwick
Members

Start @number at 1
Mar 21st, 2005 at 4:45am
Print Post Print Post  
I have converted a database that contains a number layout element imported from another (MS Access) database.

It contains a number LE with numbers into the hundreds of thousands.

Since the database contains less than 2,000 records, I wanted them re-numbered. I created a new layout element call TEMP NEW ID and ran a mass update using @number in the field.

Since I have never used @number in this database before, I expected it to start at number 1.  Instead, it took the highest number from the 'old' (a completely separate) layout element and began numbering from there.

Any suggestions as to how I can get this NEW layout element field and the only one I itend to use @number in ... to start numbering at 1?

- Spencer

** Practice random kindness & senseless acts of beauty!
IP Logged

Bharat_Naik
Members

Ever ready to learn and

Re: Start @number at 1
Reply #1 - Mar 21st, 2005 at 5:40am
Print Post Print Post  
Hi Spencer,
Sesame Designer -> Application -> Application Property Manager -> put  0    in the @Number

When you reconciling, in the second item which ask whether you want to reset the @number?  (something like that) -  You want to choose "Yes",   the default is "NO".

Please let us know if this works.

IP Logged

Carl Underwood
Members

Reply #2 - Mar 21st, 2005 at 5:40am
Print Post Print Post  
Open the app in Designer, and select "Application Property Manager" under the Application branch. There you will see @Number on the 3rd line down.

Edit: Looks like Bharat_Naik beat me to the punch by a few seconds.Smiley (We both have a time stamp of 12:40.)

Carl Underwood
CDU Computer Consulting LLC
Epsom, New Hampshire
IP Logged

SpencerWulwick
Members

Reply #3 - Mar 21st, 2005 at 5:55am
Print Post Print Post  
Thank you - thank you - thank you.