Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) traversing full complete records (Read 2503 times)
North_Guy

No personal text, yet.

traversing full complete records
Sep 7th, 2005 at 8:33pm
Print Post Print Post  
I looked and couldn't find an answer to my question here but I'm new to Sesame so excuse my terminology.

I have experience with flat database files and writing code to interact with these files. Right now I have been given a Sesame app with 4 databases and multiple forms. I need to extract complete records from the database, null values and all. When I do file I/O on any given element I only get the output of what exists in that column or field, if there are 10,000 records but only 20 unique values in any given field, thats all I recieve in my output. I guess I need to know if there is a function that will allow me to traverse through the [u]complete[/u] records one by one and extract or do whatever to the fields contained in that record?
Thanks for any help.

IP Logged

Hammer
YaBB Administrator
Lanticans

Fire bad. Tree pretty.

Re: traversing full complete records
Reply #1 - Sep 7th, 2005 at 9:11pm
Print Post Print Post  
How are you currently doing the "extraction" that gets you the 20 unique values?

- Hammer
The plural of anecdote is not data.
IP Logged

North_Guy

No personal text, yet.

Reply #2 - Sep 7th, 2005 at 9:52pm
Print Post Print Post  
I have been using the Text File I/O Functions in conjuction with other functions to try to increase the scope of fields such as GlobalValue.
Thanks for the help!, I sure can use it.

IP Logged

Hammer
YaBB Administrator
Lanticans

Fire bad. Tree pretty.

Reply #3 - Sep 7th, 2005 at 9:56pm
Print Post Print Post  
Take a look at @XLookupAll and some of the other X-commands.

- Hammer
IP Logged

North_Guy

No personal text, yet.

Reply #4 - Sep 7th, 2005 at 10:10pm
Print Post Print Post