Normal Topic Troubles importing ASCII data (Read 702 times)
antiques23

Troubles importing ASCII data
Apr 29th, 2009 at 10:01pm
Print Post Print Post  
My mother kept a database in QA4 to track her personal antique inventory: what she had, when she bought it, who she got it from, what she paid for it, etc. In the past year she has switched from Q&A to Sesame. We want to retrieve the old Q&A data and upgrade the database to include more and better information about past and future purchases. I am just learning all of this but here is what I have done so far:

1. Translated the Q&A database into Sesame. There were some errors from improperly-formatted entries that Sesame didn't like so I bypassed them by checking the "Force field types to text" option during the translation procedure. There were 1550+ records!

2. Exported the data to .CSV so I could open and edit the data easily in a spreadsheet program.

3. Added new field/category columns and re-worked the data in the spreadsheet.

4. Tried to import the newly-arranged data as an ASCII database to use as a starting point for my new-and-improved Sesame Antique Inventory database.

This is where I am running into problems. First I tried saving the text file as ANSI and then UTF-8 format. I got errors from Sesame both times saying "Cannot translate ASCII file..." Finally I tried saving the text file as Unicode and then Sesame seemed to take it okay.

Next problem is that I achieved an empty database with all the proper fields but no data. Where did all the 1500+ records go?

Next I made a sample text file just to make sure the ASCII import worked properly. I tried this about 20 different ways. Here is one example, a subset of the large inventory csv file, but using only 6 of the 1550 records (I've inserted extra hard returns in this example to make it easier to read):

!"Record","ItemName","Category","SubCategory","Comments","Maker","Origin","Style