Normal Topic XML command questions (Read 1491 times)
BOBSCOTT
Members

That Darn Computer #$X#
{curse words}

XML command questions
Nov 19th, 2011 at 5:29pm
Print Post Print Post  
I am trying to parse XML that is being returned to an element from  @HTTPGetHTML . I was using a string array type method like below but because the data is not consistent it does not work well for me so I started playing with the XML commands.

str1 = @replace(convertbox, "<", ";")      
str2 = @replace(str1, ">", ";")

First it seems like all the XML commands are looking for a file and I have not had luck using an element in place of the .xml file. I don't know if my problem is that the XML commands must read from a file or my code is fubar.

Next, I get that in XML there are reoccurring actions so I am looking for specific data between (Nodes I think) but I am having trouble using the XML commands in the proper order even with an XML file. I have tried everything including the walk the file subroutine but am not getting the file read properly. I believe my problem is that I need a better understanding of what steps I use the XML commands.

Is there a sample app with this technique floating around or a list of the steps to follow?

An example of the data is below. It obviously looks different when viewed in a text box then when viewed with a browser.

Thanks

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<TrackResponse><TrackInfo ID="9405503699300263527763"><TrackSummary><EventTime>12:14 pm</EventTime><EventDate>October 27, 2011</EventDate><Event>Delivered</Event><EventCity>PICO RIVERA</EventCity><EventState>CA</EventState><EventZIPCode>90660</EventZIPCode><
EventCountry/><FirmName/><Name/><AuthorizedAgent/></TrackSummary><TrackDetail><E
ventTime>8:07 am</EventTime><EventDate>October 27, 2011</EventDate><Event>Out for Delivery</Event><EventCity>PICO RIVERA</EventCity><EventState>CA</EventState><EventZIPCode>90660</EventZIPCode><
EventCountry/><FirmName/><Name/><AuthorizedAgent/></TrackDetail><TrackDetail><Ev