Normal Topic Ubuntu Fu? (Read 2045 times)
BWETTLAUFER

Ubuntu Fu?
May 14th, 2014 at 6:21pm
Print Post Print Post  
Hi all,

I'm suffering some slowdowns with our Sesame database hosted on an Ubuntu server with Windows XP/7 machines. 

The real issue seems to be when something transmits a large amount of data (mass updating records, XPosting subrecords, etc).  When one client does an update like this, everyone else struggles to even advance a record with F10 until the update is done.

While I'm no Linux expert, when I 'ping -l 513' from my windows machine, I get a timeout, but anything under 512 bytes goes through.  That's weird, right?

I've increased the MTU from 300 to 10,000 on my Ubuntu network settings, and it's slightly better, but not perfect.

Does anyone with more Ubuntu-Fu have some suggestions on what I can do to better handle network traffic and speed up my database?

Thanks,
Blair

IP Logged

The Cow
YaBB Administrator

Re: Ubuntu Fu?
Reply #1 - May 14th, 2014 at 7:31pm
Print Post Print Post  
BWETTLAUFER wrote on May 14th, 2014 at 6:21pm:
Hi all,

I'm suffering some slowdowns with our Sesame database hosted on an Ubuntu server with Windows XP/7 machines. 

The real issue seems to be when something transmits a large amount of data (mass updating records, XPosting subrecords, etc).  When one client does an update like this, everyone else struggles to even advance a record with F10 until the update is done.

While I'm no Linux expert, when I 'ping -l 513' from my windows machine, I get a timeout, but anything under 512 bytes goes through.  That's weird, right?

Yes. Trying pinging one of your other machines with ping -l 513. The first part of this article may explain: http://www.draytek.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&id=1415&Itemid=1581&lan...

Quote:
I've increased the MTU from 300 to 10,000 on my Ubuntu network settings, and it's slightly better, but not perfect.